This page documents the project “Hugh Davies: Electronic Music Innovator”, led by Dr James Mooney of the University of Leeds, UK, and funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council in partnership with The Science Museum from February 2015 to April 2016.

Exploring the music and research of Hugh Davies (1943-2005), the main outputs were:

Journal articles:

  • J. Mooney, “The Hugh Davies Collection: live electronic music and self-built electro-acoustic musical instruments, 1967–75”, Science Museum Group Journal (forthcoming in 2017)
  • J. Mooney, “Hugh Davies’s Electronic Music Documentation 1961-1968”, Organised Sound 20(1), 2015.

Book chapter:

  • J. Mooney, “Technology, Process and Musical Personality in the Music of Stockhausen, Hugh Davies, and Gentle Fire” in The Musical Legacy of Karlheinz  Stockhausen, ed. by M. Grant & I. Misch (Hofheim: Wolke, 2016).

Concerts with pre-concert lectures.

These are presented as data-sets comprising video files and a PDF document.

International conference. “Alternative Histories of Electronic Music”, held at the Science Museum, London, 14-16 April 2016.

Instrument-building residency and workshop with Anton Mobin.

Exhibition. “Amplified Objects”, held at Access Space, Sheffield, 13 May – 30 June 2016.


AHRC project reference: AH/M005216/1.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s